AAA genome group

The AAA genome group includes all the cultivars that have three sets of chromosomes inherited from Musa acuminata. Genome groups are part of the nomenclature system developped by Kenneth Shepherd and Norman Simmonds.

Chromosomal incompatibility between the different subspecies involved is thought to have led to the emergence of triploid cultivars[1].

The AAA genome group, which includes Cavendish bananas, is the most widely grown group of edible bananas. But not all AAA bananas are sweet dessert types. East African highland bananas, for example, are starchy cooking types.


1. Perrier, X., et al. 2011. Multidisciplinary perspectives on banana (Musa spp.) domestication. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 108.28: 11311-11318.

See also on this website