Announcements: Scholarships and awards

Listing of available scholarships

FAO Fellows

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) Fellows Programme is designed to attract fellows, typically PhD students, researchers and professors, who have an advanced level of relevant technical knowledge and experience in any field of the Organization. Fellows contribute their technical expertise and knowledge through unpaid time-bound arrangements with FAO. Assignments should be in line with FAO Strategic Objectives and UN Sustainable Development Goals. Interested candidates must apply through iRecruitment system by submitting an on-line application form together with a research proposal.
Duty stations: FAO Regional, Sub-regional, Country Offices or Headquarters
Application deadline: 31 December 2017
For more information: http://www.fao.org/employment/collaborate-with-us/fellows-programme/en/

2018 Borlaug Fellowships

The U.S. Department of Agriculture is now accepting applications for the 2018 Norman E. Borlaug International Agricultural Science and Technology Fellowship Program. The program offers training and collaborative research opportunities to scientists, researchers, and policymakers from 40 eligible countries. Fellows will work one-on-one with a mentor at a U.S. university, research center, or government agency, usually for 8-12 weeks. The U.S. mentor will later visit the fellow’s home institution to continue collaboration.
Application deadline: 5 November 2017
For more information: https://www.fas.usda.gov/newsroom/accepting-applications-2018-borlaug-fellowships


Doctorants en Agroécologie

L’Agence universitaire de la Francophonie (AUF) et l’Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD) lancent un appel conjoint à candidatures pour soutenir une dizaine de doctorants en Agroécologie. L’appel est ouvert aux doctorants en première ou deuxième année de thèse, dans l’un des trois pays suivants : Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire et Sénégal.
Date limite de dépôt de candidatures : 31 octobre 2017
Pour plus d’information : http://www.ird.fr/toute-l-actualite/appels-a-propositions-appels-a-projets/appels-a-projets-proposition-de-l-ird/appel-a-candidatures-soutien-d-une-dizaine-de-doctorants-du-college-doctoral-ouest-africain-en-agroecologie

Calls for applications from RUFORUM

The Regional Universities Forum for Capacity Building in Agriculture (RUFORUM) is a consortium of 66 universities operating in 26 African countries.

Community Action Research Programme

RUFORUM is partnering with the MasterCard Foundation to implement the programme, Transforming African Agricultural Universities to meaningfully contribute to Africa’s growth and development (TAGDev). TAGDev’s Community Action Research Programme aims to extend university activities to work more closely with rural communities. The programme focuses on crops and livestock value chains of strategic importance in Kenya, Uganda, and other African countries. Window 1 invites proposals from Egerton University and Gulu University. Window 2 is open to all other RUFORUM universities.
Application deadline: 31 October 2017
For more information: https://blog.ruforum.org/2017/08/07/call-for-proposals-ruforum-community-action-research-programme/

Graduate Teaching Assistantships
The RUFORUM program for Graduate Training Assistantships (GTA) is offering support for 325 PhD training opportunities. Eligible applicants must be a staff member at a RUFORUM member university and nominated for PhD training by their university.
Application deadline: candidates may apply at any time
For more information: https://blog.ruforum.org/2017/03/23/phd-training-opportunities-under-the-ruforum-graduate-teaching-assistantship-program-2/

Arturo Falaschi ICGEB Fellowships

The International Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB) offers PhD, Postdoctoral and Short-term fellowships in Life Sciences to scientists from ICGEB’s member states. The fellowships are for research at collaborating universities in Trieste, New Delhi, and Cape Town.
Application deadlines : PhD fellowships (31 March); Post-doctoral fellowships (31 March and 30 September); Short-term fellowships (31 March, 30 June, 30 September, 31 December)
Website: http://www.icgeb.org/fellowships.html

VLIR-UOS Training and Master Scholarships

VLIR-UOS awards scholarships to students from 54 countries in Africa, Asia and Latin-America, to follow a training course or Master’s degree program at a university or university college in Belgium. The Master’s programs, lasting one or two academic years, focus on specific problems of developing countries and/or are relevant to developing countries in a more general sense.
Application deadline: There is no fixed deadline to apply for a VLIR-UOS scholarship; procedurally, candidates first apply for academic admission to a given programme. In this regard, applicants should only take into consideration the deadline from the respective master programme.