Announcements: Scholarships and awards

Listing of available scholarships

Postdoctoral researcher

The Northern R&D division of Galilee Research Institute LTD (MIGAL) is recruiting a postdoctoral researcher to be part of a project on developing TR4-resistant banana cultivars using gene editing.

Qualifications: The applicant must hold a PhD in biological sciences and have a strong background in molecular biology. Experience in tissue culture and gene editing would be beneficial.
Duty station: Kiryat Shmona, Israel
Duration: 1 year contract, renewable for at least 1 year
Application deadline: 1 November 2019
Start date: January 2020
To apply: Send a CV and a letter of motivation to Navot Galpaz (navot.galpaz@mail.huji.ac.il)

SEARCA Scholarships

The Southeast Asian Regional Center for Graduate Study and Research in Agriculture (SEARCA) is offering full MSc and PhD scholarships to nationals of SEAMEO member countries who are regular employees of academic or research institutions or government agencies. Any of the following universities can serve as duty post: Institut Pertanian Bogor, Universitas Brawijaya and Universitas Gadjah Mada in Indonesia; Kasetsart University in Thailand; Universiti Putra Malaysia in Malaysia; and University of the Philippines Los Baños in the Philippines.

Online application form: http://ischo.searcaapps.org/ischo/form/356a192b7913b04c54574d18c28d46e6395428ab
Application deadline:  Masters (31 July 2019)  PhD (31 August 2019)
For more information: https://www.searca.org/scholarship

Arturo Falaschi fellowships

The International Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB) offers PhD, postdoctoral and short-term fellowships to scientists from ICGEB’s member states. The fellowships are for research at collaborating universities in Trieste, New Delhi and Cape Town.
Application deadlines : PhD fellowships (31 March 2019); Post-doctoral fellowships (31 March 2019, 30 September 2019); short-term fellowships (31 March 2019, 30 September 2019)
For more informationhttps://www.icgeb.org/activities/fellowship/guidelines-and-application-form-arturo-falaschi-phd-fellowships/

VLIR-UOS Training and Master Scholarships

VLIR-UOS awards scholarships to students from 54 countries in Africa, Asia and Latin-America, to follow a training course or Master’s degree program at a university or university college in Belgium. The Master’s programs, lasting one or two academic years, focus on specific problems of developing countries and/or are relevant to developing countries in a more general sense.
Application deadline: There is no fixed deadline to apply for a VLIR-UOS scholarship.