Announcements: Scholarships and awards

TWAS awards and fellowships

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) is a global science academy based in Trieste, Italy, working to advance science and engineering for sustainable prosperity in the developing world.

TWAS-NRF Fellowships
TWAS and South Africa's National Research Foundation (NRF) and Department of Science and Technology (DST) are offering Doctoral Fellowships to young scholars from developing countries (other than South Africa) who wish to pursue a PhD degree at research institutions in South Africa. The fellowships are tenable for a maximum period of three years. Note: before submitting an application form, applicants must contact institutions in South Africa or potential supervisors to obtain a placement and must have all qualifications from non-South Africa universities evaluated by the South African Qualification Authority (information available at https://www.saqa.org.za/evaluations-foreign-qualifications). To create and complete an application form, applicants must be registered on the NRF system. The instructions are in the Application and Funding Guide for 2021 academic year.
Application deadline: 14 August 2020
Application and funding guide: https://twas.org/sites/default/files/fellowship/nrf_postgraduate_scholarships_application_and_funding_guide_2021.pdf
Application form: https://nrfsubmission.nrf.ac.za/nrfmkii/
For more information: https://twas.org/opportunity/twas-nrf-doctoral-programme
NRF contact: Ms. Thandeka Mthethwa thandeka.mthethwa@nrf.ac.za

TWAS-BIOTEC Postdoctoral Fellowships
TWAS-BIOTEC Postdoctoral Fellowships are tenable at the National Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (BIOTEC) and its affiliated research units for a period of 12 to 24 months and are awarded to young scientists from developing countries, other than Thailand.
Application deadline: 31 August 2020
Online application: http://onlineforms.twas.org/apply/137
For more information: https://twas.org/opportunity/twas-biotec-postdoctoral-fellowship-programme